top of page

Dominion Raceway 09/30/23

Race Results

The Jeff Henriksen Memorial Twin 50's turned out to be the most exciting installment in Grand National Super Series presented by Engineered Components Company history. GNSS had a record seventeen cars entered. Several first-time drivers in the twin 50's were Hayden Brothers, Brent Nelson, and J.J. Pack. The Jeff Henriksen Memorial was also the second leg in the Anchor Bolt Triple Crown Challenge.

The day would be full of ups and downs for several of the drivers. Practice would claim the first victims when Cody Dennison had spun off turn four and was hit when A.J. Henriksen had nowhere to go. The 54 Rekieta Law, ShoTime Motorsports machine was able to be repaired but A.J. Henriksen's 79 would be retired for the day. Bob Schacht graciously offered his 75 Engineered Components Company car to Henriksen, giving him the ability to compete in the race that was to honor his late brother. There were three rounds of practice Saturday resulting in Mike Kurk and Jason Kitzmiller taking the top spot on the board.

Qualifying would see A.J. Henriksen take the Chalew Pole Award home. He was closely followed by Dominion Raceway spring winners Jason Kitzmiller and Jake Christman. There would be a seven-car invert for race one putting Jason McDowell and J.J. Pack in his first GNSS entry on the front row.

Jason McDowell would get out to an early lead in race one claiming eight laps as his. J.J. Pack would work his way around McDowell taking over the lead on lap nine. The caution would come out on lap thirteen when several drives tangled in turn one. Jason McDowell, Mike Kurk, Jeremy Mayfield, Cody Dennison, and Kevin Kromer would all be involved. The night would be over for Dennison, McDowell, and Kurk. Mayfield would be able to repair his hot rod in time for race two. In the midst of that incident, Joe Wilder would have to retire his 42 Dallas Metal Products Mopar Mafia car due to transmission failure. Wilder would replace teammate Brian Sossebee in the 38 Mopar Mafia car for race two. The race went back to green and it was Jake Christman to the lead quickly. Not far in tow was Jason Kitzmiller. Both Kitzmiller and Christman put on an excellent show down to the wire in the spring race at Dominion. Kitzmiller would then proceed to maneuver around Pack for the second spot. Kitzmiller would try to catch Christman but the 71 Biker's Against Cop Killers Toyota Camry was on a rail. Christman would go on to win race one followed by Jason Kitzmiller and J.J. Pack. Christman would also be the Howe Enterprises Hard Charger for race one.

Race two would see a five-car invert putting Brent Nelson and A.J. Henriksen on the front row. Brent Nelson would lead lap one, but Henriksen was on a mission. Determined to turn around his day and win a race in honor of his brother Henriksen took the lead on lap two. The race would go green with the exception of the competition caution on lap twenty. Henriksen would lead forty nine of fifty laps and took home the checkered. The win was an emotional one for Henriksen and his wife Jen and stepson Payton. Henriksen was followed by Kitzmiller, Kromer, Nelson, and Pack. Jeremy Mayfield was the Howe Enterprises Hard Charger award for race two.

The next GNSS event will be October 14th at Carteret County Speedway. GNSS would like to thank Engineered Components Company, Anchor Bolt and Screw, Dominion Raceway, Chris Carter, Chalew Performance, Howe Racing Enterprises, Dave Jensen Enterprises, Circle Track Warehouse, and Versalift East.

Race One Results

1. Jake Christman

2. Jason Kitzmiller

3. J.J. Pack

4. A.J. Henriksen

5. Brent Nelson

6. Donnie Doster

7. Hayden Brothers

8. Dusty Silvers

9. Brian Sosebee

10. Larry Wilcox

11.Jason McDowell

12. Kevin Kromer

13. Mike Kurk

14. Jeremy Mayfield

15. Cody Dennison

16. Joe Wilder

Race Two Results

1. A.J. Henriksen

2. Jason Kitzmiller

3. Kevin Kromer

4. Brent Nelson

5. J.J. Pack

6. Hayden Brothers

7. Jeremy Mayfield

8. Larry Wilcox

9. Joe Wilder

10. Dusty Silvers

11. Donnie Doster

Written by JD Bowsher

#71 Jake Christman, WINS the first race of the night at Dominion Raceway!
bottom of page