top of page
Mayfield winning p1.jpg
aj pole franklkin county.jpg

For Immediate Release 


 Mooresville N.C. - The Grand National Super Series presented by Engineered Components Co put on a stellar show Saturday night at Franklin County Speedway.  Thirteen cars showed up to try their hand against heavy hitters A.J. Henriksen and Jeremy Mayfield. A.J. Henriksen was fastest in practice followed closely by Kevin Kromer and Mayfield. Henriksen was once again the Chalew Pole Award winner. However, it only meant he would be shuffled to the middle of the pack after the six-position invert in the race. At the start of the first race, it was young Joe Wilder out front alongside Tyler Ashley. Once the green dropped Henriksen, Kromer, and Mayfield were on the move. Soon Henriksen had the lead pulling away being the first one to make his way through the field. A caution would bunch the field up removing the cushion Henriksen had. When the green was waved the battle between A.J. Henriksen, Marc Jones, and Jeremy Mayfield. After a few laps with was Henriksen with the lead and a battle for second between Mayfield and Kromer. Within a few laps Mayfield would prevail and set his sights on Henriksen.  Henriksen set the fastest lap of the first race and was not making it easy on Mayfield.  Soon they would reach lapped traffic. Mayfield methodically used the lapped traffic to his advantage working his way around Henriksen. In the end of the first race, it would be Mayfield who took the checkered flag. Kevin Kromer received the Howe Enterprises Hard Charger Award for the first race. Both Eric Barber and Joe Wilder pulled off early. 

 The second would start with Mike Smith and Lauren Butler on the first row. However, two rows back would be both Mayfield and Henriksen. Mike Smith would lead the first lap but Kevin Kromer quickly reeled him in taking the lead Kromer would lead several laps. After reaching lapped traffic Mayfield would prevail taking the lead but A.J. Henriksen was in tow. The two battled back and fourth for several laps before A.J. finally took the lead. It seemed Henriksen had it wrapped up.  Once again lapped traffic would play a role.  With a two of laps left the pair hit lapped traffic splitting a lapped car going three wide in turn one. The crowd took to their feet in excitement. Mayfield would emerge the leader. Mayfield would win the second race of the night with Henriksen second. Joe Wilder in the 42 set the fastest lap of the second race. The Howe Hard Charger Award went to Josh Phillips who was in the 99A. 


The Grand National Super Series Presented by Engineered Components Co.'s next race will be at Dillon Motor Speedway on July 9th. As always, we want to thank our amazing sponsors who make all this happen; Engineered Components Co, Chalew Performance, Howe Enterprises, and Circle Track Warehouse. 

bottom of page